Queensland State of Origin’s most prestigious awards are listed herein awarding players for their contributions to the greatest interstate rivalry.


This sought after award presented to the person who makes the greatest contribution to the Queensland State of Origin squad each year. It can be a player or one of the support staff and truly recognizes what the Queensland Origin spirit is all about.

The award was introduced in 2003 as a tribute to Former Origin Great, Peter Jackson (Dec.).  Jackson played 16 games for the Maroons, the most famous of which was when he stepped into five-eighth for the injured Wally Lewis in Sydney in 1988 to inspire Queensland to an against-the-odds win.

Jackson was a fiercely proud Queenslander and an inspirational player who put the team ahead of everything else.

The recipients of the Peter Jackson Memorial Award so far are:

  • 2002 – Chris “Choppy” Close
  • 2003 – Michael Pease
  • 2004 – Dick “Tosser” Turner
  • 2005 – Dave Ryan
  • 2006 – Darren Lockyer
  • 2007 – Shaun Berrigan
  • 2008 – Kevin Walters
  • 2009 – Roy Saunders
  • 2010 – Steve Price
  • 2011 – Petero Civoniceva
  • 2012 – Johnathan Thurston
  • 2013 – Brent Tate
  • 2014 – Steve Walters
  • 2015 – Justin Hodges
  • 2016 – Billy Slater
  • 2017 – Johnathan Thurston
  • 2018 – Josh Papalii
  • 2019 – Cameron Munster
  • 2020 – Josh Kerr


Dick “Tosser” Turner (Dec.) was a former player and administrator but it was in his role as the Queensland Origin Team Manager that he achieved legendary status.

Turner was hand-picked by the late Senator Ron McAuliffe in 1982 and served in that role into the new century before handing over to Chris Close.

His contribution to Origin can be best summed up in “Origin: Rugby League’s Greatest Contest” which says: He (Turner) brought to the Queensland State of Origin team an understanding nature and a healthy sense of humour, but his special contribution stemmed from his fierce animosity towards anything in a Blue Guernsey.

To this day, he enjoys the utmost respect from past and present players and his contribution to Queensland’s Origin success, both on and off the field cannot be underestimated. It is therefore fitting that an award which recognizes long service to Queensland Origin Football for players who have donned the Maroon jersey 20 or more times is named in his honour.